Arizona Registrar of Contractors

   Tuesday January 27, 2015 06:21 PM Contact FAQ Site Map  
Please keep your TPT number

You may have received a notice from the Department of Revenue stating, "[i]f you are a contractor whose only business is to enter into contracts with the owner of real property for the maintenance, repair, replacement or alteration of existing property, beginning January 1, 2015, you do not need to have a transaction privilege tax (TPT) license."

Unfortunately, this guidance did not consider statutes governing the Registrar of Contractors. ARS 32-1122(B)(1)(h) requires all applicants and licensees provide the ROC with a TPT to obtain or renew a contractor license. The ROC has asked the legislature to make these laws more consistent by removing this TPT requirement. Until this change is made, contractors should maintain their state TPT license.

License Fees - Effective 7/1/2014

License fees are authorized by A.R.S. § 32-1126, 32-1132, and R4-9-130.

License Fees FAQ

    • The fees for a contractor's license depend on the type and class of license for which you are applying.
    • License fees shown below are for a two year license.

    New License Application
    Classification Application Fee License Fee Recovery Fund Assessment* Total
    General Commercial (A,B) $200 $580 $0 $780
    Specialty Commercial (C) $100 $480 $0 $580
    General Residential (B) $180 $320 $370 $870
    Specialty Residential (R) $80 $270 $370 $720
    General Dual (KA,KB,KE,KO) $200 $480 $370 $1,050
    Specialty Dual (CR) $100 $380 $370 $850



    Renewal License Application
    Classification License Fee Recovery Fund Assessment* Total
    General Commercial (A,B) $580 $0 $580
    Specialty Commercial (C) $480 $0 $480
    General Residential (B) $320 $270 $590
    Specialty Residential (R) $270 $270 $540
    General Dual (KA,KB,KE,KO) $480 $270 $750
    Specialty Dual (CR) $380 $270 $650

*Special Note:

A.R.S. § 32-1152(C) requires residential and dual contractors provide an additional $200,000 for consumer protection. This protection may be established by (a) furnishing a $200,000 surety bond or cash deposit, or (b) paying the required assessment to participate in the Recovery Fund.
click menu tab again to hide menu
AZ.GOV - Arizona's
Official Website